Bhutan Dagana District or Dzongkhag Dagana (also spelled Dhakana, previously known as Daga) is one of the 20 dzongkhag (districts) comprising Bhutan.

Legend has it that the people of Dagana were a lawless bunch in the 17th century, and that the Shabdrung had to send in soldiers to gain control over the dzongkha.

Dagana Dzongkhag is one of the remotest Dzongkhags in the country. Dagana Dzongkhag comprises of Daga Lingsum and Daga Lungsum. The Lingsum are Peling (Tseza Geog), Lhaling (Kana Geog) and Dhaling (Kana Geog), And Daga Lungsum are Tasha (Lajab Geog), Dagana and Getana (now under Chukha Dzongkhag).

Bhutan Dagana Dzong Dagana Dzong

The total area of Dagana Dzongkhag is approximately 1389 km2. It lies between 26 Degrees 50 minutes North to 27 Degrees 17 minutes North and 89 degrees 41 minutes East to 90 Degrees 5 minutes east approximately. It shares its borders with Thimphu and Chukha Dzongkhag to the west, Wangduephodrang Dzongkhag to the north, Tsirang Dzongkhag to the east and Sarpang Dzongkhag to the south. The elevation ranges from 600 m to over 3800 m above sea level. The Dzongkhag falls within the Temperate Zone in the north and sub-tropical in south with hot and wet summers and cool and dry winters.

About 79% of the total area in the Dzongkhag are under forest cover with tree species like Champ, Arguray, Chirpine and Sal, etc.

The Dzongkhag has 4782 hectare of Kamzhing (dry land) and 2115 hectares of Chuzhing (irrigated/ Wetland). There are about 6050 hectares of land under mixed cultivation.

People in Dagana are simple and derive their daily sustenance from farming activities. Settlements in the Dzongkhag are fairly dispersed and remote compared to other Dzongkhags.